It’s Time

IMG_6723

The time is finally here. The time I’ve been waiting for. My very first international competition. This is not how i pictured it, it’s not the event I thought it would be, or even with the dog I expected; but isn’t that how most wonderful things happen, in the least possible way you would imagine? I leave tomorrow with Zippy, for the EOJ in Czech Republic (I’m excited just writing that). Oddly enough I’m not as nervous as I thought I would be. Turns out I’m more nervous about Zippy flying in cargo (AHHHH), than I am about the competition. I feel complete and utter excitement. Our last training session was almost a week ago, and it did not go as planned, post turns fell apart, as did rear crosses, and yet, I still felt okay. Instead of training this week, Zip and I have been hiking, and its beautiful. We’ve hiked almost everyday this week. Today, alone in the woods with him, I felt complete serenity. Serene is never a word I would use to describe myself, and still today, that is the only way to encapsulate how I was feeling. I thought of the competition and my heart no longer began to race, I no longer thought of all the things I could have, should have, done to prepare. I thought of the competition and my heart filled with joy. I hope to carry this feeling with me next week going into competition. Everyone has told me to not be nervous, but I wanted the nerves, I wanted the edge they bring. I thought I needed them. And I’m sure they will come when competition begins, but right now, I’m enjoying the serenity.

5 thoughts on “It’s Time

  1. Mark Winialski

    GOOD LUCK TESSA AND ZIPPY!!!! Proud of you!!

    Like

  2. Caper, Skye & I wish you the best of luck ! We are SO proud of you !!!!!

    Like

  3. I love this post. The fact that you have found serenity now is the best timing. Your training has already been done, now it all comes down to connection, and commitment. Enjoy the ride, girl.

    Like

  4. Jane Plamondon

    The very best to you, Tessa! People mean well when they tell you, “Don’t be nervous,” but don’t let them deny you a perfectly natural and, actually, necessary feeling under these circumstances as you have come to realize. Whatever happens, you are going to have an experience that you will never forget. Enjoy every minute of it!

    Like

  5. Diane Marshall

    Embrace this moment and have fun with your dog. Safe travels and we will be thinking of you back here.

    Like

Leave a comment